Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire revealed to be the next Ghostbusters film

Sony has revealed the title and a new trailer for the next ‘Ghostbusters’ film, which sees the cast of ‘Ghostbusters’ and the cast of ‘Ghostbusters: Afterlife’ join forces to take on a new ghost that threatens to plunge New York City into another Ice Age. 

Titled ‘Ghostbusters: Frozen Empire’, the sequel to ‘Afterlife’ sees the Spengler family travel to the iconic New York fire station first seen in the original ‘Ghostbusters’ film back on December 7, 1984. 

The discovery of an ancient and evil artifact puts New York City at risk when a harsh and ghostly frost called the Death Chill aims to freeze the inhabitants and kill with the power of fear itself. 

At the end of the trailer, the icy Emperor comes out of the mist to challenge the Spenglers and the rest of the team. 

‘Frozen Empire’ will be directed by Gil Kenan, who has previously directed the 2015 film ‘Poltergeist’ and the 2006 film ‘Monster House’.

Kenan also helped to write ‘Afterlife’ alongside Jason Reitman. 

‘Afterlife’ released in November 2021, and acted as a reboot of the ‘Ghostbusters’ franchise.

Sony previously attempted to reboot the franchise in 2016 with an all-female ‘Ghostbusters’ crew, which was panned by both fans and critics. 

Reitman returns to write ‘Frozen Empire’, alongside Kenan. 

The cast includes returning members like Dan Aykroyd, Paul Rudd, Bill Murray, Carrie Coon, Finn Wolfhard, and Mckenna Grace. 

Kumail Nanjiani and Patton Oswalt join the cast, though it’s unclear what roles they will be playing.

Sony Pictures will distribute the film, and it will be released in cinemas on 29 March 2024. 

Kieran Burt

My name is Kieran and I am based in the UK. I love writing about all things science fiction and fantasy, particularly Star Wars and Marvel. When I’m not writing or watching anything sci-fi related, you can probably find me exploring the open worlds of alternate lands through my Xbox.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *